Shopping Bag

0 item(s) in cart/ total: $0    view cart
Sacred Books of the East Vols.3,16,27 & 28 -  Confucianism
Sacred Books of the East Vols.3,16,27 & 28 - Confucianism

Sacred Books of the East Vols.3,16,27 & 28 - Confucianism

by F Max Muller

Your Price: $125.00
In Stock.

Product ID:6228




Motilal Banarsidass


8120801040/01172/01288/01296 - Year: 1998 - Pages: 1248



F Max Muller
Shipping Note: This item usually arrives at your doorstep in 10-15 days

Author: F Max Muller
Publisher: Motilal Banarsidass
Year: 1998
Language: English
Pages: 1248
ISBN/UPC (if available): 8120801040/01172/01288/01296


Confucianism is one the three main religions of China. It is of indigenous origin and has been dealt with in these 4 volumes which collectively are called The Sacred Books of China. CONFUCIUS did not originate but translated the views of antiquity to his disciples from whom a good deal of what he said has been received. The classical books of this religion are The Five King, and The Four Shu. VOLUME 3 covers 3 texts of Confucianism: The Shu King, The Religious Portion of the Shih King and The Hsiao King. The Shu King also known as Book of Historical Documents is the most ancient Chinese Classical books and contains historical documents of various kinds relating to the period from about BC 2357-627. The Shih King or Book of Poetry illustrates the religious views and practices of the writers and their times. And Finally, The Hsiao King also called Classic of Filial Piety. VOLUME 16 carries The Yi King Also known as Book of Changes. It covers The Yi King from the twelfth Century BC to the commencement of the Christian era. VOLUME 27 includes chapters of I-X of The Li Ki or the collection of Treatises on the rules of propriety or ceremonial usages. Confucius said 'It is by the odes that the mind is aroused; by the Rules of Propriety that the character is established; from the music that the finish is received. Without the rules of Propriety, respectfulness becomes laborious bustle; carefulness, timidity; boldness, insubordination; and straightforwardness, rudeness'. VOLUME 28 continues with Books XI-XLVI of The Li Ki which is also a collection of Treatises on the Rules of Propriety or Ceremonial Usages.


Volume – 3




The Nature and History of the SHU

The Credibility of the Records in the SHU

On the Chronology of China, and the Principal Eras in the SHU

The Book of THANG

The Book of YU

The Book of HSIA

The Book of SHANG

The Book of KAU



The Name and Contents of the SHIH

The SHIH before Confucius, and What, if any, were his Labours Upon it

The SHIH from the Time of Confucius till the General Acknowledgement of the Present Text.

The Formation of the Collection of the SHIH; How it Came to be so Small and Incomplete; The Interpretation and Authors of the Pieces; One Pint of Time Certainly Indicated in its; and the Confucian Preface

Odes of the Temple and the Altar.

The Minor Odes of the Kingdom.

The Major Odes of the Kingdom

Lessons from the States



The Name of the Classic; Its Existence Before the Han Dynasty; Its Contents, and by whom it was written.

The Recovery of the HSIAO under the Han Dynasty, and its Preservation Down to the Publication of the Commentary of the Thang Emperor HSUAN zUNG.

Criticism of the HSIAO since the Thang Dynasty

Transliteration of Oriental Alphabets adopted for
The Translations of the Sacred Books of the East

Volume – 16



The YI King from the Twelfth Century B C to the Commencement of the Christian Era.

The Subject-Matter or the Text. The Lineal Figures and the Explanation of them.

The Appendixes







Treatise on the THWAN, That is, on King Wan’s Explanations of the Entire Hexagrams.

Treatise on the Symbolism of the Hexagrams, and of the Duke of Kau’s Explanations of the Several Lines.

The Great Appendix.

Supplementary to the THWAN and YAO on the first and second Hexagrams, and showing how they may be interpreted of Man’s nature and doings.

Treatise of Remarks on the Trigrams.

The Orderly Sequence of the Hexagrams.

Treatise on the Hexagrams taken Promiscuously, according to the opposition or Diversity of their meaning.

Transliteration of Oriental Alphabets adopted for
The Translations of the Sacred Books of the East

Volume- 27



Three Different LI King, or Ritual Books, Acknowledgement in China. The Recovery of the First Two, and Formation of the Third, Under the Han Dynasty.

Significance of the Chinese Character called LI. Meaning of the LI KI. Value of the Work.

Brief Notices of the different Books which make up the Collection.

Book 1: KHU LI or Summary of the Rules of Propriety.

Book 2: The Than Kung.

Book 3: The Royal Regulations.

Book 4: YUEH Ling or Proceedings of Government in the different Months.

Book 5: The Questions of zANG-zZE.

Book 6: Wan Wang SHIH-zZE or King Wan as Son and Heir.

Book 7: The LI YUN or Ceremonial Usages; -Their Origin, Development, and Intention.

Book 8: The LI KHI or Rites in the Formation of Character.

Book 9: The KIAO then Sang or the Single Victim at the Border Sacrifices.

Book 10. The NEI zEH or the Pattern of the Family.

Transliteration of Oriental Alphabets adopted for
The Translations of the Sacred Books of the East

Volume – 28


YU zAO or the Jade-Bead Pendants of the Royal Cap.

Ming Thang WEI or the Places in the Halls of Distinction.

Sang FU HSIAO KI or Record of Smaller Matters in the Dress of Mourning.

TA KWAN or the Great Treatise.

SHAO I or Smaller Rules of Demeanour.

HSIO KI or Record on the Subject of Education.

YO KI or Record of Music.

zA Ki or Miscellaneous Records.

Sang TA KI or the Greater Record of Mourning Rites.

KI FA or The Law of Sacrifices.

KI I or the Law of Sacrifices.

KI I or the Meaning of Sacrifices.

KI Thung or a Summary Account of Sacrifices.

King Kieh or the Different Teaching of the Different Kings.

AI Kung Wan or Questions of Duke Al.

KUNG-NI YEN KU or KUNG-NI at Home at Ease.

KHUNG-zZE HSIEN KU or Confucius at Home at Leisure

FUNG YUNG or Record of the Dykes

Kung Yung or the State of Equilibrium and Harmony.

PIAO Ki or the Record on Example.

zZE I or the Black Robes.

PAN Sang or Rules on Hurrying to Mourning Rites.

WAN Sang or Questions about Mourning Rites.

FU Wan or Subjects for Questioning about the Mourning Dress.

Kien Kwan or Treatise on Subsidiary Points in Mourning Usages

San Niew Wan or Questions about the Mourning for three years.

SHAN I or the Long Dress in one Piece

THAU HU or the Games of Pitch-Pot

ZU HSIO (Hang) or the Conduct of the Scholar

TA HSIO or the Great Learning

HWAN I or the Meaning of the Marriage Ceremony

HSIANS YIN KIU I or the Meaning of the Drinking Festivity in the Districts.

She I or the Meaning of the Ceremony of Archery.

Yen I or The Meaning of the Interchange of Missions between different Courts.

Sang FU SZE KIH or the Four Principles Under-Lying the Dress of mourning.


Index of Subjects

Index of Proper names

Transliteration of Oriental Alphabets adopted for
The Translations of the Sacred Books of the East

Related Items

Recently Viewed Items