Shopping Bag

0 item(s) in cart/ total: $0    view cart
Something Black in the Lentil Soup
Something Black in the Lentil Soup

Something Black in the Lentil Soup

by Reshma S Ruia

Your Price: $21.15
In Stock.

Product ID:14506

Language

English

Publisher

Penguin

ISBN

0143032356 - Year: 2004 - Pages: 245

Binding

Paperback

Reshma S Ruia
Shipping Note: This item usually arrives at your doorstep in 10-15 days

Author: Reshma S Ruia
Publisher: Penguin
Year: 2004
Language: English
Pages: 245
ISBN/UPC (if available): 0143032356

Description

An irreverent portrayal of three parallel cultures-British, Indian and British-Indian.

Kavi Naidu is a great poet in the tradition of Wordsworth and Shelley. (Well he thinks so anyway.) Pompous, sentimental and in search of literary fame and romantic glory, he is suddenly catapulted from the sleepy humdrum routine of life in Delhi to the heady distractions of London. Urged on by his mother, whose ambition is way out of proportion to her diminutive size, Kavi sets out to win the prestigious Commonwealth Poetry Prize.

As soon as he arrives in London for the competition, Kavi is beset by people who bewilder him: the singular owner of his hotel, some oh-so-typical English aristocrats, a red-haired Australian girl with a penchant for mini kilts, a Roman Catholic priest, a Tongan poet and many others. And then there is the suave and enigmatic Seth, a distinguished man of letters, India's most celebrated literary gent and Kavi's nemesis for many years. Resolutely refusing to see the pitfalls awaiting him, Kavi stumbles from muddle to faux pas to disaster.

Reshma S Ruia's warm, sly humour and sharp eye for human failings brings Kavi and all those around him vividly to life in this entertaining tale of an innocent abroad.

Related Items

Recently Viewed Items