Shopping Bag

0 item(s) in cart/ total: $0    view cart
The Buddha's Ancient Path
The Buddha's Ancient Path

The Buddha's Ancient Path

by Piyadassi Thera

Your Price: $28.75
In Stock.

Product ID:18810




Munshiram Manoharlal


8121511461 - Year: 2005 - Pages: 239



Piyadassi Thera
Shipping Note: This item usually arrives at your doorstep in 10-15 days

Author: Piyadassi Thera
Publisher: Munshiram Manoharlal
Year: 2005
Language: English
Pages: 239
ISBN/UPC (if available): 8121511461


This is a book on basic Buddhism with a difference, for it is written by a monk who was native of Ceylon, a scholar and a well-known preacher and broadcaster in Ceylon. He had the Pali canon and the commentaries at his fingertips, so that his book is full of apposite stories and quotations of what the Buddha said-many of them appearing in English for the first time.

In recent years a number of expositions of the Buddha's teachings have been published in English, but most of them lack authenticity and do not represent what the Buddha taught correctly. Hence the need for this authentic book based on the Four Noble Truths about suffering which are the central conception of Buddhism and on the Noble Eightfold Path which is Buddhism in practice.

This should prove the standard textbook from which basic Buddhism of the Theravada is taught for many years to come. It cannot be stressed too strongly that the Mahayana Buddhism of Tibet, China and Japan is based on and developed out of this basic Buddhism of the Theravadins in Ceylon.



1. The Buddha.
2. The Buddhist standpoint.
3. The Central conception of Buddhism (The four noble truths). The first noble truth--Dukkha: suffering.
4. The second noble truth-Samudaya: the arising of suffering.
5. The third noble truth-Nirodha: the cessation of suffering.
6. The threefold division of the noble eightfold path.
7. The fourth noble truth-Magga : the path right understanding (Samma-ditthi).
8. Right thought (Samma-samkappa).
9. Right speech (Samma-vaca).
10. Right action (Summa-kammanta).
11. Right livelihood (Samma-ajiva).
12. Right effort (Samma-vayama).
13. Right mindfulness (Samma-sati).
14. Right concentration (Samma-Samadhi).
15. Conclusion



Related Items

Recently Viewed Items