Shopping Bag

0 item(s) in cart/ total: $0    view cart
Three Women
Three Women

Three Women

by Rabindranath Tagore

Your Price: $24.95
In Stock.

Product ID:30064

Language

English

Publisher

Random House India

ISBN

9788184001327 - Year: 2010 - Pages: 208

Binding

Paperback

Rabindranath Tagore

Author: Rabindranath Tagore
Translator(s)/ Editors(s): Arunava Sinha
Publisher: Random House India
Year: 2010
Language: English
Pages: 208
ISBN/UPC (if available): 9788184001327

Description

Three women, three stories of forbidden love.

Ignored by her well-meaning husband, Charulata falls in love with a high-spirited young cousin in The Broken nest (Nashtaneer, 1901.). Sharmila, in Two Sisters (Dui Bon, 1993) Witnesses her husband sink her fortunes and his passion into his business –and her sister.

And the invalid Neeraja finds her life slowly ebbing away as a new love awakens for her beloved husband in The Arbour (Malancha, 1934). Romantic, subtle, and nuanced, Rabindranath Tagore’s novellas are about the undercurrents in relationships, the mysteries of love, the ties and bonds of marriage, and above all about the dreams and desires of women.

More about the Book:

• The Bengal Renaissance saw the flowering of some of India’s greatest thinkers—this is the first popular account of that period and of those men and women
• Contains the stories of some of India’s greatest icons: Rabindranth, Rammohan Roy, Vidyasagar, and Jagdish Chandra Bose in one epic narrative
• For fans of William Dalrymple’s The Last Mughal and Amitav Ghosh’s The Sea of Poppies
• This is a major history book and will get lots of attention


ABOUT THE TRANSLATOR:

Arunava Sinha is the translator and series editor of the Random House India Classics Series, Bengali. His translations include Chowringhee (winner of the Vodafone Crossword Prize for best translation), My Kind of Girl (shortlisted for the Vodafone Crossword Prize for best translation), Middleman, and Striker Stopper.

Contents

Introduction

Nashtaneer-The Broken Nest
Dui Bon – The Two Sisters
Malancha – The Arbour
Translator’s note

Related Items

Recently Viewed Items