Shopping Bag

0 item(s) in cart/ total: $0    view cart
The Prize Stories - Best In The Indian News Business
The Prize Stories - Best In The Indian News Business

The Prize Stories - Best In The Indian News Business

by Several Contributors

Your Price: $33.70
Out of Stock.

Product ID:22796




Roli Books


9788174365378 - Year: 2007 - Pages: 178



Several Contributors
Shipping Note: This item usually arrives at your doorstep in 10-15 days

Author: Several Contributors
Foreword/Introductio: Viveck Goenka/ Fali S Nariman
Publisher: Roli Books
Year: 2007
Language: English
Pages: 178
ISBN/UPC (if available): 9788174365378


As part of the centenary year celebrations of its founder Ramnath
Goenka, The Express Group instituted The Ramnath Goenka Excellence in Journalism Awards.

The Awards for Excellence in Journalism honour journalists from both print and broadcast media – men and women who have relentlessly searched for and ferreted out the facts, sometimes under very hostile circumstances. Their stories range from hard-hitting investigations of corruption as in the Bihar flood or the Mahila Bank scams, exposes on human rights violations in Jammu, Kashmir and Manipur to thorough analysis of terrorism in Kashmir. Three are reports on the Gujarat riots and the appalling conditions under which miners live in Assam, moving accounts of the Tsunami or how Kokkare Bellur nurtures migrant birds.

The Awards pay tribute to journalists who encourage public trust in the media by practicing the highest standards of their profession in the face of political or economic pressures; journalists whose work is fair, accurate and tackle issues that affect the lives of reader, the well-being of the community, the nation. Journalists who do not just report facts but crusade for the truth.

This is a collection of the award-winning entries along with personal anecdotes by the winners, an initiative by the Express group celebrating ‘courage, enterprise and fairness’ of the following award winners:

Barkha Dutt
Menaka Doshi
Mir Ehsan
Praveen Swami
Punya Prasun Bajpai
Ramesh Menon
Ratna Bharali Talukadar
Shikha Trivedy
Somini Sengupta
Sopan Pandhiripande
Sutapa Deb
Swati Thyagarajan
Varghese K. George
Vicar Dhoot
Vikram Chowdhury

‘The awards are to celebrate the values of good journalism: enter-prise, fairness, and above all, courage.’
- Fail S. Nariman
Sr.Advocate, Supreme Court of India

‘For Ramnathji, getting the story was an award in itself, the search for answers, the sifting of nose from news, the last piece of puzzle falling into place.’
- Viveck Goenka
Chairman, The Express Group


Viveck Goenka

Fali S. Nariman

The Jury

The Award Winners

Nagappatinam Ravaged - Barkha Dutt

Janatana Sarkar - C. Vanaja

Family Matters - Menaka Doshi

J&K ‘Militants’ are not Militants - Mir Ehsan

Disturbed Doda - Praveen Swami

The Terrorism of TADA - Punya Prasun Bajpai

The Slow Poisoning of Punjab - Ramesh Menon

Labourers Spend Dark Days in Collieries
-Ratna Bharali Talukadar

Living in Hope - Shikha Trivedy

Virus Ravages India’s Poor, Stirs Call
For Counter-attack - Somini Sengupta

Mahila Bank in Trouble - Sopan Pandhiripande

State Violence in Manipur - Sutapa Deb

Born Wild - Swati Thyagarajan

The Bihar Flood Scam - Varghese K. George

The Curious Case at the PF Office - Vicar Dhoot

The Story of Munira begum - Vikram Chowdhury

Related Items

Recently Viewed Items