Shopping Bag

0 item(s) in cart/ total: $0    view cart
West Bengal     (BENGALI)
West Bengal (BENGALI)

West Bengal (BENGALI)


Your Price: $11.95
Out of Stock.

Product ID:3361




National Book Trust


9788123761169 - Year: 2014 - Pages: 121


Shipping Note: This item usually arrives at your doorstep in 10-15 days

Publisher: National Book Trust
Year: 2014
Language: Bengali
Pages: 121
ISBN/UPC (if available): 9788123761169


West Bengal is a state in eastern India and is the nation's fourth-most populous state, with over 91 million inhabitants. Spread over 34,267 sq mi (88,750 km2), it is bordered by the countries of Bangladesh, Nepal and Bhutan, and the Indian states of Odisha, Jharkhand, Bihar, Sikkim, and Assam. The state capital is Kolkata. Together with the neighboring nation of Bangladesh and parts of the state Tripura, it makes up the ethno-linguistic region of Bengal.

Ancient Bengal was the site of several major janapadas (kingdoms). It was also part of large empires such as the Maurya Empire (second century BC) and Gupta Empire (fourth century AD); and part of the regional Pala Empire (eighth to 11th century) and Sena dynasty (11th–12th century). From the 13th century onward, the region was controlled by the Bengal Sultanate, Hindu kings and Baro-Bhuyan landlords under the suzerainty of Mughal empire, until British East India company took control of the region from the Mughals in the late 18th century. The East India Company consolidated their hold on the region following the Battle of Plassey in 1757 and Battle of Buxar in 1764 and by 1793 took complete control of the region. Calcutta served for many years as the capital of British controlled territories in India. The early and prolonged exposure to British administration resulted in expansion of Western education, culminating in development in science, institutional education, and social reforms of the region, including what became known as the Bengali renaissance. A hotbed of the Indian independence movement through the early 20th century, Bengal was divided during India's independence in 1947 along religious lines into two separate entities: West Bengal—a state of India—and East Bengal—a part of the newly created Dominion of Pakistan—later becoming the independent nation of Bangladesh in 1971

Related Items

Recently Viewed Items